Innovation
Innovation

With our individual technological solutions, we pursue the goal of supporting our customers' product leadership. Our focus of innovation is on energy efficiency as well as increasing the precision and comfort of our customers' products.

However, the innovative ability of Brutscher Maschinenbau is not limited to product and technology developments, but is rooted in all areas of the company.

We are convinced that we can further strengthen our innovative strength by thinking outside the box. That is why we not only trust the knowledge and wealth of experience of our teams, but also work closely with external partners, research institutes or start-ups.

Brutscher Maschinenbau© TUfast e.V. - Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Technical University of Munich
Brutscher Maschinenbau

Patented tilt segment bearing development at Brutscher Maschinenbau

Radial tilt segment bearings are used to support high-speed shafts and rotors in turbines, gearboxes, compressors, generators, turbochargers and electrical machines. Constantly increasing power densities in mechanical engineering place increasing demands on the performance and operational safety of modern, hydrodynamic radial tilting segment bearings. Decisive parameters are the resulting bearing temperature during operation and the amount of lubricating oil required for the radial tilting segment bearing.

On the basis of currently customary radial tilting segment bearings, Brutscher Maschinenbau GmbH has developed an oil management system that is integrated into the bearing and that regulates the incoming cold lubricating oil and the discharged warm lubricating oil separately.

The result is a plain bearing system with an exceptional level of performance and development potential. In test runs, the amount of oil was reduced by over 50% compared to the bearings currently used by the market partner.


Brutscher Maschinenbau

The BM oil control system

On the basis of currently customary radial tilting segment bearings, Brutscher Maschinenbau GmbH has developed an oil management system that is integrated into the bearing and that regulates the incoming cold lubricating oil and the discharged warm lubricating oil separately.

With the BM oil control system:

  • cold lubricating oil is supplied to the bearing across the entire tipping segment width
  • the mixing of cold / warm lubricating oil is avoided
  • the warm oil transfer from segment to segment is minimized
  • flow losses are reduced

and thus the temperature level, the efficiency and ultimately the operational safety are improved compared to conventional radial tilt segment bearings.

Brutscher Maschinenbau

Function of hydrodynamic radial tilt segment bearing

The function of a hydrodynamic radial tilting segment bearing is based on the interaction of:

  • the geometric dependence between the shaft diameter and the radius of curvature of the radial tilt segments
  • the rotation of the shaft
  • the supplied lubricating oil

This creates a lubricating gap, which reduces the friction between the shaft and the bearing and dissipates the heat that is generated.

The radial tilt segments (usually 4 or 5 pieces) are inserted in the circumferential direction in the bearing body and positioned using a retaining screw. In terms of design, a space is provided between the segments, which is used in most radial tilt segment bearings for the supply and removal of lubricating oil.

 

Lubricating oil supply for a conventional radial tilting segment bearing

Conventional radial tilting segment bearings guide the lubricating oil into the space between two segments using oil nozzles. Due to the lack of spatial separation of the lubricating oil supply and the lubricating oil discharge, mixing of the incoming, cold lubricating oil with the discharging, warm lubricating oil cannot be prevented. A warmer lubricating oil is thus effectively supplied to the bearing.

The resulting higher bearing temperature has a direct impact on the efficiency or the power loss of the radial tilting segment bearing and can have undesirable effects on operational safety.

Brutscher Maschinenbau

Lube oil supply with the BM oil control system

The BM oil guide system integrated in the radial tilting segment bearing is not to be regarded as a single component, but is made up of the components of the bearing body, oil guide strip and oil guide cover. The central component of the BM oil control system is the oil control strip, which is positioned in the space between two tilting segments and separates the incoming, cold lubricating oil from the outgoing, warm lubricating oil.

The cold lubricating oil is conveyed through the bearing body into the oil guide, from which the lubricating oil is sprayed into the segment engagement by means of one or more holes. The oil guide bar is designed as an oil chamber in the area in front of the tilting segment engagement, which, in addition to direct injection through the bores, ensures that the incoming, cold lubricating oil is distributed over the entire width of the segment engagement.

The supplied lubricating oil is conveyed between the shaft and the tilting segment in the direction of rotation to the end of the tilting segment and heated by the friction. At the end of the tilting segment, the warm lubricating oil that runs off is guided radially away from the shaft into the oil drain shaft by centrifugal force. The cutting-shaped oil drain shaft - made contactless to the shaft - and the existing cross-sections support efficient and turbulence-free drainage of the lubricating oil.

The targeted oil routing in the oil drain shaft prevents additional heating of the tilting segment due to the lubricating oil running off. The shape and cross-section of the oil drain shaft in the oil guide rail are consistently continued in the bearing base. The running, warm lubricating oil is then led out of the radial tilting segment bearing via the oil guide cover.

Brutscher MaschinenbauBrutscher Maschinenbau

The advantages of the BM oil control system compared to conventional bearings

  • Spatial separation of lubricating oil supply and lubricating oil removal prevents the mixing of warm and cold lubricating oil => optimal utilization of the supplied, cold lubricating oil for the lubrication and cooling of the bearing.
  • Targeted supply of lubricating oil across the entire radial tipping segment width.
  • The oil requirement of the radial tilting segment bearing can be reduced by the targeted and effective supply of the cold lubricating oil.
  • Warm oil transfer from segment to segment is minimized by the geometric design of the oil drain shaft.
  • Efficient, turbulence-free lubrication oil removal with enlarged cross-sections and volumes. In comparison to a conventional radial tilt segment bearing, the example of a ø70 bearing gives an advantage of
    • 50% more available volume in the warehouse for the running, warm lubricating oil
    • 300% more cross-sectional area to the side oil guide covers
    • 150% more cross-section of the drain opening in the side oil guide covers
  • Reducing the number of components required (4 components per segment => 20 components per radial tilting cement bearing) means less effort in assembly and service work
  • Tool-free assembly / disassembly of the radial tilt segments after removing a side oil guide cover
  • Design of the side oil guide covers enables a more compact shaft design and offers improved design options with regard to low-notch shaft transitions.
Brutscher MaschinenbauBrutscher Maschinenbau
Brutscher Maschinenbau

Innovation
Innovation

Mit unseren individuellen technologischen Lösungen verfolgen wir das Ziel, die Produktführerschaft unserer Kunden zu unterstützen. Unser Innovationsschwerpunkt liegt auf Energieeffizienz sowie Präzisions- und Komfortsteigerung der Produkte unserer Kunden.

Die Innovationsfähigkeit der Brutscher Maschinenbau beschränkt sich allerdings nicht nur auf Produkt- und Technologieentwicklungen, sondern ist in allen Bereichen des Unternehmens verwurzelt.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass wir unsere Innovationskraft durch den Blick über den Tellerrand noch weiter stärken können. Deshalb vertrauen wir nicht nur auf das Wissen und den Erfahrungsschatz unserer Teams, sondern arbeiten auch eng mit externen Partnern, Forschungsinstituten, oder Start-Ups zusammen.


Brutscher Maschinenbau© TUfast e.V. - Fakultät für Maschinenwesen Technische Universität München
Brutscher Maschinenbau

Patentierte Gleitlagerenwicklung bei Brutscher Maschinenbau

Radialkippsegmentlager dienen der Lagerung hochtouriger Wellen und Rotoren in Turbinen, Getrieben, Verdichter, Generatoren, Turbolader und elektrischen Maschinen. Stetig größer werdende Leistungsdichten im Maschinenbau stellen immer höhere Anforderungen an die Leistungsfähigkeit und Betriebssicherheit moderner, hydrodynamischer Radialkippsegmentlager. Entscheidende Kenngrößen sind hierbei die im Betrieb resultierende Lagertemperatur und die benötigte Schmierölmenge des Radialkippsegmentlagers.

Auf Basis aktuell üblicher Radialkippsegmentlager wurde von der Brutscher Maschinenbau GmbH ein ins Lager integriertes Ölleitsystem entwickelt, welches zulaufendes, kaltes Schmieröl und ablaufendes, warmes Schmieröl getrennt voneinander reguliert.

Das Ergebnis ist ein Gleitlagersystem mit außerordentlichem Leistungsniveau und Entwicklungspotential. In Prüfläufen konnte im Vergleich zu aktuell verwendeten Lagern der Marktbegleiter die Ölmenge um über 50% reduziert werden.


Brutscher Maschinenbau

Das BM Ă–lleitsystem

Auf Basis aktuell üblicher Radialkippsegmentlager wurde von der Brutscher Maschinenbau GmbH ein ins Lager integriertes Ölleitsystem entwickelt, welches zulaufendes, kaltes Schmieröl und ablaufendes, warmes Schmieröl getrennt voneinander reguliert.

Durch das BM Ă–lleitsystem:

  • wird dem Lager ĂĽber die kpl. Kippsegmentbreite kaltes Schmieröl zugefĂĽhrt
  • wird das Vermischen von kaltem/warmen Schmieröl vermieden
  • wird der WarmölĂĽbertrag von Segment zu Segment minimiert
  • werden Strömungsverluste reduziert

und somit das Temperaturniveau, der Wirkungsgrad und letztendlich die Betriebssicherheit im Vergleich zu konventionellen Radialkippsegmentlagern verbessert.

Brutscher Maschinenbau

Funktion hydrodynamisches Radialkippsegmentlager

Die Funktion eines hydrodynamischen Radialkippsegmentlagers basiert auf dem Zusammenspiel von:

  • der geometrischen Abhängigkeit zwischen Wellendurchmesser und dem KrĂĽmmungsradius der Radialkippsegmente
  • der Rotation der Welle
  • dem zugefĂĽhrten Schmieröl

Hierbei bildet sich einen Schmierspalt, welcher die Reibung zwischen Welle und Lager reduziert und dabei entstehende Wärme abführt.

Die Radialkippsegmente (in der Regel 4 bzw. 5 Stück) sind in Umfangsrichtung im Lagergrundkörper eingelegt und mittels Halteschraube positioniert. Konstruktiv ist zwischen den Segmenten ein Freiraum vorgesehen, welcher bei den meisten Radialkippsegmentlagern zur Schmierölzufuhr und Schmierölabfuhr genutzt wird.

 

Schmierölversorgung eines konventionellen Radialkippsegmentlagers

Konventionelle Radialkippsegmentlager führen das Schmieröl mittels Öldüsen in den Freiraum zwischen zwei Segmenten. Durch die fehlende räumliche Trennung von Schmierölzufuhr und Schmierölabfuhr kann ein vermischen von zulaufendem, kaltem Schmieröl mit ablaufendem, warmen Schmieröl nicht verhindert werden. Somit wird dem Lager effektiv ein wärmeres Schmieröl zugeführt.

Die resultierende, höhere Lagertemperatur wirkt sich direkt auf den Wirkungsgrad bzw. die Verlustleistung des Radialkippsegmentlagers aus und kann unerwünschte Auswirkungen auf die Betriebssicherheit haben.

Brutscher Maschinenbau

Schmierölversorgung mit dem BM Ölleitsystem

Das im Radialkippsegmentlager integrierte BM Ölleitsystem ist nicht als einzelnes Bauteil anzusehen, sondern setzt sich aus den Bauteilen Lagergrundkörper, Ölleitleiste und Ölleitdeckel zusammen. Als zentrales Bauteil des BM Ölleitsystems ist die Ölleitleiste anzusehen, welche im Raum zwischen zwei Kippsegmenten positioniert ist und das zulaufende, kalte Schmieröl vom ablaufenden, warmen Schmieröl trennt.

Das kalte Schmieröl wird über den Lagergrundkörper in die Ölleitleiste gefördert, von welcher aus das Schmieröl mittels einer oder mehreren Bohrungen gezielt in den Segmenteingriff gespritzt wird. Die Ölleitleiste ist im Bereich vor dem Kippsegmenteingriff als Ölkammer ausgeführt, welche neben der direkten Einspritzung durch die Bohrungen ein flächiges Verteilen des zulaufenden, kalten Schmieröls über die ganze Breite des Segmenteingriffs sicherstellt.

Das zugeführte Schmieröl wird zwischen Welle und Kippsegment in Drehrichtung zum Kippsegmentende gefördert und durch die Reibleistung erwärmt. Am Kippsegmentende wird das ablaufende, warme Schmieröl durch die Fliehkraft radial von der Welle weg in den Ölablaufschacht geleitet. Der schneideförmig gestaltete Ölablaufschacht - berührungslos zur Welle ausgeführt - und die vorhandenen Querschnitte unterstützen hierbei eine effiziente und turbolenzfreie Ableitung des Schmieröls.

Durch die gezielte Ölführung im Ölablaufschacht wird ein zusätzliches Erwärmen des Kippsegmentes durch das ablaufende Schmieröl verhindert. Form und Querschnitt des Ölablaufschachtes in der Ölleitleiste werden konsequent im Lagergrundkörper weitergeführt. Das ablaufende, warme Schmieröl wird abschliessend über die Ölleitdeckel aus dem Radialkippsegmentlager herausgeleitet.

Brutscher MaschinenbauBrutscher Maschinenbau

Die Vorteile des BM Ă–lleitsystems gegenĂĽber konventionellen Lagern

  • Räumliche Trennung von Schmierölzufuhr und Schmierölabfuhr verhindert das Vermischen von warmen und kaltem Schmieröl => optimale Verwertung des zugefĂĽhrten, kalten Schmieröls fĂĽr die Schmierung und KĂĽhlung des Lagers.
  • Gezielte Schmierölversorgung ĂĽber die kpl. Radialkippsegmentbreite.
  • Durch die gezielte und effektive Zufuhr des kalten Schmieröls kann der Ă–lbedarf des Radialkippsegmentlagers reduziert werden.
  • WarmölĂĽbertag von Segment zu Segment wird durch die geometrische Gestaltung des Ă–lablaufschachtes minimiert
  • Effiziente, turbolenzfreie Schmierölabfuhr mit vergrößerten Querschnitten und Volumina. Im Vergleich zu einem konventionellen Radialkippsegmentlager ergibt sich am Beispiel eines Lagers ø70 ein Vorteil von
    • 50% mehr verfĂĽgbares Volumen im Lager fĂĽr das ablaufende, warme Schmieröl
    • 300% mehr Querschnittsfläche zu den seitlichen Ă–lleitdeckeln
    • 150% mehr Querschnitt der Ablauföffnung in den seitlichen Ă–lleitdeckeln
  • Reduzierung der Anzahl der benötigten Bauteile (4 Bauteile pro Segment => 20 Bauteile pro Radialkippsgementlager) bedeutet reduzierter Aufwand bei Montageund Servicearbeiten
  • Werkzeuglose Montage/Demontage der Radialkippsegmente nach entfernen eines seitlichen Ă–lleitdeckels
  • AusfĂĽhrung der seitlichen Ă–lleitdeckel ermöglicht ein kompakteres Wellendesign und bietet verbesserte Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten hinsichtlich kerbarmer WellenĂĽbergänge.
Brutscher MaschinenbauBrutscher Maschinenbau
Brutscher Maschinenbau